The New Delhi Daredevils Team Is Out And It Sure Looks Like A Winner

The auction for the 11th season of the Indian Premier League concluded on Monday, 29th January, and the new Delhi Daredevils team sure looks like a winner!

Glenn Maxwell was bought by Delhi Daredevils for a whopping amount of Rs 9 Crores becoming the costliest player picked by the team.

Image Source

After helping the Kolkata Knight Riders win twice, Gautam Gambhir too is back to play alongside the Daredevils. Delhi acquired Gambhir for Rs 2.8 crore.

Next is English batting superstar Jason Roy who headed to Delhi Daredevils for 1.5 Cr. Roy is known for striking a record-breaking 180 as England chased down more than 300.

Though the best buy for the team is possibly all-rounder Colin Munro for just 1.9 Cr. Munro is the only batsmen to have scored three T20 international hundreds. He has been in amazing form recently scoring at an average of above 40 with a strike rate of over 150.

Delhi also acquired the Under-19 skipper Prithvi Shaw for 1.2 Cr. From working with Rahul Dravid at the Under 19 world up to working with Ricky Ponting at Delhi it is undoubtedly a good start for the player!

Delhi Daredevils retained two of their main bowlers, Kagiso Rabada and Mohammed Shami. They used their right to match card on both of them and trumped other teams well.

Another player retained by our home team is Amit Mishra who has by far been one of the most consistent performers for the Delhi Daredevils. His services were acquired for Rs 4 Crore. During the IPL season 6 in 2013, he became the first player in IPL history to have taken three hat-tricks.

Other players retained by the Delhi Daredevils are Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, and Shreyas Iyer.

Delhi nabbed Naman Ojha from Rajasthan Royals for Rs 1.4 crore and acquired the services of Kiwis pacer Trent Boult. The left arm pacer joined the Delhi ranks for a big sum of 2.2 Cr.

Shahbaz Nadeem was bought by Delhi Daredevils for an amount of Rs 3.2 crore. Nadeem was part of the Delhi team in the last edition of the team as well and so, they have gone and bought him again for this year as well.

Image Source

Delhi Daredevils bid fiercely for players and they have bought Dan Christian and Jayant Yadav for 1.5 Cr and 50 Lakh respectively, Gurkeerat Singh Mann for 75 Lakh, Manjot Kalra for 20 Lakhs, and Vijay Shankar (3.2 crores), Harshal Patel (20 Lakh) and Avesh Khan (70 Lakh).

After the two-day bidding, fighting and auctioning, here is what the IPL 2018 Delhi Daredevils squad looks like:

Prithvi Shaw, Abhishek Sharma, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Trent Boult, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Naman Ojha, Glenn Maxwell, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Daniel Christian, Gurkeerat Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Sayan Ghosh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Chris Morris, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant


Cover Image Courtesy | SourceĀ 

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *